Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday // Book quotes that hit me in the heart

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June of 2010 and moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January of 2018. It was born of a love of lists, a love of books, and a desire to bring bookish friends together. This week’s theme is:

April 30: Inspirational/Thought-Provoking Book Quotes

There are some quotes that have stuck with me ever since I read them. They’re so poignant and powerful that I’ve never forgotten the way they sounded when I first read them. So I’ve picked ten of my most memorable to share with you guys.


“I’d rather die on an adventure than live standing still.”
― V.E. Schwab, A Darker Shade of Magic

prior

“No woman should be made to fear that she was not enough.”
― Samantha Shannon, The Priory of the Orange Tree

“I can take a little beating now and then. I’m a tough one. I’m a star. I’m steel-chested and diamond-eyed. Cyborgs live and then they break, but I’ll never break. Even when my bone dust drifts over the City walls, I’ll be living and I’ll be flying, and I will wave and laugh.”
― Alice Oseman, Radio Silence

“So we drove on toward death through the cooling twilight.”
― F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby

We Should All be Feminists

“Some people ask: “Why the word feminist? Why not just say you are a believer in human rights, or something like that?” Because that would be dishonest. Feminism is, of course, part of human rights in general—but to choose to use the vague expression human rights is to deny the specific and particular problem of gender. It would be a way of pretending that it was not women who have, for centuries, been excluded. It would be a way of denying that the problem of gender targets women.”
― Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, We Should All Be Feminists

Vengeful2

“How many men would she have to turn to dust before one took her seriously?”
― V.E. Schwab, Vengeful

“He pauses, and I know what’s coming before he even says it, and it’s like the sun chose this moment to press through the dense branches of the tree. “I’m totally gay.”
― Christina Lauren, Autoboyography

“I could recognize him by touch alone, by smell; I would know him blind, by the way his breaths came and his feet struck the earth. I would know him in death, at the end of the world.”
― Madeline Miller, The Song of Achilles

Muse

“There comes a certain point with a hope or a dream, when you either give it up or give up everything else. And if you choose the dream, if you keep on going, then you can never quit, because it’s all you are.”
― Laini Taylor, Muse of Nightmares

“I wanted to tell the book thief many things, about beauty and brutality. But what could I tell her about those things that she didn’t already know? I wanted to explain that I am constantly overestimating and underestimating the human race-that rarely do I ever simply estimate it. I wanted to ask her how the same thing could be so ugly and so glorious, and its words and stories so damning and brilliant.”
― Markus Zusak, The Book Thief


What are some of your favourite book quotes? Do you have an author whose writing you love?

Until next time,KateNEW

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday // Book quotes that hit me in the heart

  1. Love your list! There are so many quotable lines from The Song of Achilles, and that one makes me heart ache.

          1. Same here, I was so excited for it (and still am) but have so many other books I really, really want/need to read first!

  2. I love the quotes you chose! ♥ The Muse of Nightmares one especially, it struck a chord with me for sure. I haven’t read Strange the Dreamer, but I have to say I’m now very intrigued. One of the many quotes I love is from Windwitch, the second book of the Witchlands series by Susan Dennard: “It is always easier to blame gods or legends than it is to face our own mistakes”.

    1. Aww thanks so much! Strange and Muse are both beautifully written, so there are lots of quotes like that in both books. I’d definitely recommend them! Ooh I really like that Windwitch quote! I’ve read the first book in the series, but I’ve not got to the others yet. Thanks for sharing!

  3. The amount of quotes I could have chosen from the Book Thief is insane. That book is just so moving.

    I’ve literally just got my hands on a copy of The Song of Achilles and that white is enough to let me know that it will crush me.

  4. I love your picks for this week Kate, when it comes to the Shades of Magic series the quote you featured is the quote that comes to mind. I love it so much and it pretty much perfectly described Lila’s characters too. 🙂 I still need to read The Priory of the Orange Tree, I’m not sure why it’s taking me so long to get around to it, and all of Alice Oseman’s books, but I can’t wait because I’ve heard so many incredible things about her releases.
    Great post, and again great picks for this weeks topic. 🙂 ❤

Leave a comment