Readathons · TBRs and Wrap ups

Asian Readathon TBR

May is Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month, a time to celebrate the culture, achievements, and impact of Asian people, globally.

Although AAPI month originated in the US, Asian and Pacific Islander people have made incredible contributions to society across the world and deserve to be recognised. So for inclusivity, I’ll be using the term Asian Heritage Month for the rest of this post.

This may, WithCindy is once again hosting Asian Readathon to celebrate Asian Heritage Month.

Make sure to check out her announcement video for the readathon and the directory of Asian authored books if you’re thinking of taking part, or if you just want to discover more books by Asian authors.

I’ll be taking part in Asian Readathon again this year and I’m going to try to complete all five challenges.

My main TBR

Challenge 1: Read a book written by an Asian author

For this challenge, I’ve chosen A Wish in the Dark by Christina Soontornvat, a MG fantasy story inspired by Thai culture. I’ve been meaning to read this for about two years on May‘s recommendation, so I’m looking forward to finally picking it up.

Challenge 2: Read a book featuring an Asian character who is a woman and/or older

Good Indian Daughter is my pick for this challenge. It’s a nonfiction memoir (and we all know I’m big on nonfiction) about Ruhi Lee’s experiences of being pregnant with her daughter and realising she wasn’t going to meet her parents’ expectations of who she should be.

Challenge 3: Read a book by an Asian author that has a universe you would want to experience OR a universe that is totally different from yours

My pick for this challenge is The Red Palace because it’s set in 18th century Korea, which is a world very different to my own and one that I’d be curious to go back and experience. I’ve been wanting to read some of June Hur’s work for ages, so I’m excited to get to this one.

Challenge 4: Read a book by an Asian author that has a cover worthy of googly eyes. šŸ‘€

For challenge 4, I’ve chosen Afterparties because LOOK AT THAT COVER. It’s stunning. This is a short story collection and the author’s debut novel about the lives of Cambodian-Americans. I think this may be semi-autobiographical (though I’m not 100% sure) so it’ll probably be quite a sad read because the author passed away before the book was actually published.

Challenge 5: Read a book by an Asian author that has a high rating OR was highly recommended.

I’ve been wanting to read Akwaeke Emezi’s memoir for a while and it’s really highly rated on Goodreads. The average rating is 4.35 stars, which is huge when you consider that it’s been out for almost a year, so I’m excited to see what it has in store.

Other books I’m hoping to read

I started Portrait of a Thief last month, so I’m keen to try and finish it this month. I’m also keen to read my e-arc of Solo Dance that the publisher kindly sent me before it releases in June (I actually just started it this morning whoops because I couldn’t wait, whoops).

Violets and Only a Monster are new releases I’m very keen to get to and Fireheart Tiger has been on my TBR for ages.


Are you taking part in Asian Readathon this year? Which books are you reading (or hoping to read) this month?

8 thoughts on “Asian Readathon TBR

  1. That looks like a great list! I know it’s “only” on your “other books”-list, but I’m really hoping to get to Portrait of a Thief sometime this year myself. It’s one of my most anticipated releases of the year.
    Good luck with your readathon!!

  2. Lovely TBR! I can’t wait to hear what you think of Portrait of A Thief, I’ve heard fantastic things about this book! šŸ™‚

Leave a comment