tags

2016/2017 Tag

2016-to-2017-book-tag

I was tagged by the lovely Holly over @ NutFreeNerd (so you should totally go and check her out) and I thought since it’s still only February (and therefore ‘early 2017’ in my mind) I’d better get on with it!

rules

1. Mention the creator of the TAG (David @ #theguywhosaidalwaysno)

2. Use the image that you find in this article.

3. Mention the blogger who has chosen you.

4. Answer the questions.

5. Mention 3 bloggers/friends and let them know through a comment on their blog.

~~~~

Describe your 2016 in 3 words!

Quite the adventure!

Write the names of 2 people who characterised your 2016.

OK, I’m going to go with authors for this one. And they have to be V. E. Schwab, whose work I fell in love with in 2016, and Leigh Bardugo, who brought me into the thrilling world of the Grisha.

Write the most beautiful place you’ve visited in 2016 and why you liked it so much!

This one’s an easy one for me – Japan. I went to Japan in October and volunteered there for three months. While there, I saw some of the most beautiful sights I think I’ll ever see. It’s tough to narrow down, but I think the most beautiful place I went to was Kyoto. I visited Kiyomizu-dera (the first set of photos) and Fushimi Inari taisha (the second set) and they were so stunning I felt like I might burst with emotion (mainly happiness and wonder).

kiyumizu-derakiyomizu-2

Write the most delicious food you’ve tasted in 2016.

While I was in Japan I tried yatsuhashi, which was like nothing I’ve ever had before. Yatsuhashi is a sweet confectionery originating from Kyoto, and is made from rice flour, sugar and cinnamon. They come in many many different flavours, and my favourite were probably yuzu (Japanese lemon) and choco-banana.

yatsu

Write the event which has marked you the most in 2016 (even a global event).

I don’t mean to keep going on about it, but I have to choose Japan again for this question. Travelling over there and exploring Kansai defined my 2016, without a doubt. I learned so much about the culture, people and language while I was there and I felt that I grew more as a person too.

Write the finest purchase you’ve made in 2016, and if you want link a photo.

This is going to sound insignificant, but hear me out. My finest purchase was A Gathering of Shadows by V. E. Schwab, which I bought while at YALC last summer. This was the first bookish convention I’ve been to and I managed to get the book signed by V on the day, which made the purchase even more special.

agos3

agos2

Write 3 good intentions for 2017.

To be kind to others and share love, to shower everything I do with enthusiasm, and to be generous.

Write 1 place you want to visit in 2017.

I would love to visit London again this year! I went last July for YALC, and this year I’m looking to move there for publishing jobs (fingers crossed!) so hopefully I may get to stay on a more permanent basis!

London.jpg

(Photo credit: wiki commons)

Write 1 plate/food you want to eat in 2017.

I’m vegan, so I really want to try baking this vegan cheesecake recipe that I found on Instagram the other day.

Look at it. It looks delicious.

16464602_1756878757671518_8881244889199673344_n.jpg

(All photo credit to papaya_sunshine on Instagram!)

taggg

CW @ ReadThinkPonder

Anna @ MyBookishDream

Beth @ ReadingEveryNight

Let me know if you decide to do it, no pressure if not!

until-next-time-1

7 thoughts on “2016/2017 Tag

  1. Thanks so much for the tag Kate, I’ll definitely get around to this one soon but yeah I will have to move this up my tags queue list given that we’re already part way through 2017 and if I leave it any longer it will be a little weird to do a 2016 review! 😀
    It sounds like you had an amazing year though, Japan must have been a brilliant experience and your pictures look amazing! I’d love to go to Japan myself one day so here’s hoping I get the chance soon. Also yes you need to come to YALC and London again this year. I’ve booked my tickets and I simply can’t wait! 😀
    Thanks again for the tag Kate! 🙂 ❤

    1. No problem Beth, sorry to add to your already-huge backlog of tags! 😉 Yeah, I moved this one up my list because I didn’t want to end up doing it in November! I’m definitely coming to YALC again this year, I just have to decide whether to get a day or weekend ticket (most likely the latter). Would love to meet up if we’re both there on the same day(s)!

      1. No that’s all right, I should be posting it later tonight. I had to jump it ahead in my queue because posting an end of year tag in February is OK, posting it in June not so much.
        That would be amazing, I am there for the whole weekend (I think after doing the weekend last year I couldn’t do just one day this year) and we should definitely meet up while we’re there as well! 😀

  2. I’m was so happy to see Victoria Schwab and Leigh Bardugo in your post, without knowing why you even mentioned them. They are both my all time favourite authors! 😀
    Okay, I’m dying for your pictures of Japan! That’s one place I really want to visit and I’m very jealous that you got to go, though I’m also very happy that you had an amazing time. 😉 Good luck with baking the cake, it looks delicious!
    Thank you for tagging me as well! ❤

Leave a comment