Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday [Hiatus #6]: Books that have been on my shelf for over a year and I should REALLY get to

Happy Tuesday!

It’s that time of the week again. Top Ten Tuesday is on hiatus until mid-August so Jamie @TheBrokeandTheBookish kindly said we could create our own topics in the mean time. Last week I talked about Books That Made Me Tear Up, this week it’s books I’ve owned for years and haven’t read. (Excuse me while I just find my hat of shame.)

We all have at least a few books that we buy or are given as gifts and they then sit on our shelves for 12+ months before we finally turn the first page. I have way too many to count. So here, have ten of the best.

What a lovely collection of completely unread books. I don’t quite know why I haven’t got round to them yet, but it’s likely got something to do with the fact that I keep buying/acquiring books faster than I can read them. The age-old problem.

Have you got any books that have been sitting your shelf for years, waiting to be read? Or do you manage to read them as soon as you get them? (If so, teach me your ways.) Drop me a comment down below! 

Until next time, Kate

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday [Hiatus #6]: Books that have been on my shelf for over a year and I should REALLY get to

  1. I’ve also had An Ember in the Ashes and The Handmaid’s Tale sitting on my shelves for way too long. I’m finally going to be starting An Ember in the Ashes later today for the Make Me Read It Readathon though. If I did a post like this, I could probably list 100 books I haven’t read, hahaha. I’m the WORST at buying way more books than I can read.

    1. Hehe, well I’ll try to take a leaf out of your book and get started on Ember soon! Readathons are such a good way of ticking books off your TBR, so I hope you have fun with it! I’m hoping to do one at some point this month too. 🙂 Haha yes, picking 10 was easy when there are at least 40 on my shelves that I haven’t got to yet, whoops!

  2. I had ember on my shelf for SOO LONG and I finally just read it! It’s totally worth it- do it soon! Also the bone season- I listened to the audiobook over a few weeks (I took it slow) and I really enjoyed it. I’ve had lady midnight FOREVER and it just sits on my side table because I’m too afraid to pick it up!!

    1. Haha thanks for the advice! I’m definitely hoping to read The Bone Season soon, as I’ve seen Samantha Shannon speak at a few different events and I’m eager to get into the world she’s created. I also really fancy picking up Ember because I’ve seen a few people tweeting about it recently! Yeah I know what you mean with Lady Midnight, I need to read City of Heavenly Fire before I can pick it up, but I’m more interested in other books at the moment.

  3. I’ve read the first 4 here: Handmaid’s is basically my favourite book ever. I really love Middlesex as well; it’s ages since I read it and every time I see it on the shelf I wonder if it’s time for a reread. It’s a good idea to wait to read Ember because although the sequel is amazing the third book isn’t out till 2018 by which time I will definitely have forgotten the whole plot.

Leave a Reply

