TBRs and Wrap ups

July Wrap Up (Or the month where YALC slayed me in the best possible way)

July Wrap up

Hey guys,

Hope you’ve all had a lovely month. I got to see my boyfriend graduate, visit a micropig farm, and attend YALC so it’s been a pretty exciting month for me. I posted my YALC Haul and Round-up earlier this week, in case you want to check out which books I picked up at the convention.

Books cover

After posting it, I changed my TBR slightly for July because I found out that a few authors whose books I’d planned to read weren’t going to be at YALC, but I still had a pretty good month and managed to read five books.

The books I’d planned to read were:

And the books I actually read were:

I had a busy month, so I’m not surprised I didn’t read everything on my TBR, but guys, I FINALLY STARTED A CONJURING OF LIGHT. And now I don’t want to ever finish it. It’s incredible. It’s everything. I’ve got about 150 pages to go, and I just don’t want it to be over.

Ratings and reviews:

Do Not Say We Have Nothing  4-5-stars
The Raven King  3-stars
The Princess Saves Herself in This One  4-stars
We Were Liars  3-5-stars
Dreams of Gods and Monsters  4-stars

other-notable-posts

YALC 2017 Book Haul and Round-up
I wrote about my YALC weekend and all the books I picked up.

The Mulan Book Tag
This was such a fun tag to do and I’d definitely recommend it to anyone who enjoys Disney.

Book review: Do Not Say We Have Nothing by Madeleine Thien
I reviewed the Booker-nominated novel, that’s been getting a lot of buzz recently (and rightly so).

General Life Updates

  • I went to a micropig farm this month and got to play with pigs for three hours. My soul almost left the stratosphere.
  • I attended YALC and met V. E. Schwab not once but twice. My life was made.
  • I saw my boyfriend graduate from his medicine degree and spent a blissful weekend visiting friends and celebrating.
  • I started going to a spin class (sorry guys, I’m one of those sports types) and great fun!

What did you guys read during July? Did you go to YALC or get up to anything exciting? Let me know! 

Until next time, Kate

13 thoughts on “July Wrap Up (Or the month where YALC slayed me in the best possible way)

  1. Congrats to your boyfriend on his graduation!!! I wish I could read A Conjuring of Light for the first time again. That book is EVERYTHING!

  2. It seems like you had an amazing month!! 😀 I’m also glad that you had a lot of fun at YALC. Also, congrats to your boyfriend on his graduation!! That’s seriously amazing!
    On a side note, I finally got my hands on a copy of The Demon King – so I’m ready for our buddy read! 😉 Though it’s no hurry (take as much time as you need), I just wanted to let you know that I have a copy now.

    1. Aww thanks Anna, that’s so sweet of you! Oh brilliant! I still don’t have it yet, but I do currently have a £10 Waterstones voucher sooooo, I’ll have a look online and in store over the next week or two and see if I can find a copy!

      1. Haha, take as much time as you need – I’m really in no hurry to start reading that book!

  3. Ah, congrats to your boyfriend for graduating medicine, that’s awesome!! And I am so envious you got to meet V, she seems amazing and I hope she can come to Australia one day! 😀

Leave a comment