Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday [Hiatus #5]: Books that made me tear up

Hey guys,

It’s that time of the week again. Top Ten Tuesday is on hiatus until mid-August so Jamie @TheBrokeandTheBookish kindly said we could create our own topics in the mean time. Last week I did 10 book conventions I want to visit, but since YALC weekend is now over (*weeps from behind my bookshelf*) I thought I’d go for a topic about books that made me tear up.

It’s a pretty rare occurrence for me to cry at a book; I’m not a robot, but the words have to have just the right cadence and balance of emotion to bring tears to my eyes. All the books on this list made me tear up from sadness, but there have been a few rare occurrences when books have made me cry from happiness. That, however, is a topic for another week. So here are my ten tear-jerking books.

Some of these brought tears to my eyes without making my cry outright, while others made me burst into tears (I’m looking at you One). Out of this list, I think The Book ThiefOneThe Fault in Our Stars, and The Song of Achilles made me cry the most. Thanks guys. Right in the feelings.

Which books are guaranteed to make you tear up? Are there any that have made you absolutely bawl or, like me, do you not find yourself weeping at books very often? Drop me a comment and let me know!

Until next time, Kate

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday [Hiatus #5]: Books that made me tear up

  1. I’m the same – I don’t often cry when reading a book. But there are definitely a few exceptions to that! I did tear up in Crooked Kingdom, though no real crying happened. And The Book Thief and The Fault in Our Stars made me cry the most, I remember literary sobbing and having to put the books down because I couldn’t see anymore! Great list, Kate! 🙂

  2. Oh The Song of Achilles is one of the books that pretty much destroyed me. I’m not normally one to cry at books but I just couldn’t get over that ending, it was so heartbreaking and actually put me in a little bit of a reading slump because there was nothing I could start that could follow that book. It was the same with The Book Thief, both were so emotional and even now they’re books that have stayed with me for so long.
    Great picks for this week Kate! 😀

Leave a Reply

