tags

The Mulan Book Tag

The Mulan Book Tag

Hey guys!

I’ve got loads of tags to catch up on so I thought I’d do one related to one of my favourite Disney films! I had a lot of fun coming up with these answers and making the image for the post. Huge thanks to the lovely Dee @The Bookish Khaleesi who tagged me, definitely go and check out her blog.

THE RULES:
  • Mention the creator (Kirsty and the Cat Read)
  • Thank/mention the person who tagged you
  • Match books or characters to the questions below
  • Tag as many people as you like🙂
1. REFLECTION “WHEN WILL MY REFLECTION SHOW WHO I AM INSIDE” – AN INACCURATE BOOK COVER THAT DOESN’T REALLY REFLECT WHAT THE BOOK IS ABOUT

mulannnn

For this, I chose The Wangs Vs The World by Jade Chang.

wangs-us

I love the colours of this cover, but it doesn’t really give any idea of the story. The novel follows the Wang family, an Asian-American family who have to make a trip across the US after losing their fortune (that’s not a spoiler, it says so in the blurb!), and to me this cover doesn’t suggest any of that at all.

2. MUSHU – A CHARACTER WITH A LOT TO PROVE

mushhu

Since I just finished reading it yesterday, I’m going to go with Akiva from the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy.

Dreams of Gods and Monsters

After events of the first two books, where Akiva was partly responsible for a cataclysmic event that changes Eretz completely, he feels intense guilt and vows to spend the rest of his life atoning for his mistakes. Thankfully, events ensue that mean he doesn’t have to do so, but at the beginning of the novel he definitely has a lot to prove – to both himself and Karou.

3. “I’LL MAKE A MAN OUTTA YOU!” – A CHARACTER WHO DEVELOPS THE MOST OR A BOOK WITH SOME KICK-ASS TRAINING SCENES

when-li-shang-aka-pretty-boy-sings-her-about-being-man

For this one, I went with Matthias Helvar from the Six of Crows duology.

Matthias Helvar gets SO MUCH character development, and I will not hear arguments against this. He goes from being an indoctrinated grisha-hating, unsympathetic douche to a someone sensitive, empathetic, and caring, who has learned the value of human life. A+ character growth Matthias. You did well.

4. “A GIRL WORTH FIGHTING FOR” – A SHIP YOU WILL DEFEND TILL YOUR LAST BREATH

tumblr_n2gxlfk2nv1soh7y6o4_500

OK, I’ve chosen a ship that involves no girls at all. How unlike me. Whoops.

carry on

Yes, I picked Simon and Baz from Carry On. I loved the way their relationship developed and Simon’s discovery of his sexuality was explored so gently and positively. Basically, they’re both great and I’ll ship them until the end of time.

5.HUNS – A BOOK/CHARACTER THAT GIVES YOU THE CREEPS

tumblr_madmh5jvjs1rcb0d2o1_500

Got to be Sloan from This Savage Song and Our Dark Duet.

Sloan is a Malchai, with fangs and claws, and if his desire for bloodshed and violence isn’t creepy enough in This Savage Song, he becomes obsessed with Kate Harker in Our Dark Duet and spends most of the book imagining how best to kill her. Since I’m also called Kate this was extra creepy. *shudder*

6. MULAN – YOUR FAVOURITE BADASS FEMALE PROTAGONIST

tumblr_mq97nkpq1l1swc8u0o1_500

OK. This was tough. But, in the end I went with my queen, my warrior, Lila Bard.

I mean, how could I not? She defies all odds and doesn’t let anyone tell her how to live her life. She crosses worlds and saves lives, all while keeping a knife tucked in her boot. She’s definitely my badass protagonist of choice.

I TAG:

Hollie @Hollieblog

Bex @Myshelfandmyself

Philippa @Thelittlebookowl

Vicky @Hunguponbooks

Until next time, Kate

6 thoughts on “The Mulan Book Tag

  1. Oh these are great picks for this tag Kate, and I loved seeing TWO V.E. Schwab series on this list as well! 😀 Sloan is definitely a creepy character, and he definitely gets even more creepy in Our Dark Duet. I was glad he got the ending he did in that duology. And yes, there can be no other character for badass female protagonist than Delilah Bard! 😀 I love Simon and Baz, and Matthias in the Six of Crows duology, he definitely had some amazing character development. I think all the characters did.
    Again great answers for this tag! 🙂 ❤

  2. This is such a cool tag!! I love the prompts.. and your answers!! I need to read the Darker Shade of Magic books ASAP. I don’t know how I have put it off this long!

Leave a Reply

