The Friday 56

The Friday 56: Do Not Say We Have Nothing

Hey guys, hope you’re all having a wonderful Friday!

The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. The idea is to share an excerpt from a book you’ve been reading every Friday, to promote the book or simply just to showcase your current read!

Friday56

Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader
(If you have to improvise, that’s OK.)
*Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it)
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post below in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url.
*It’s that simple

This week I’m reading The Raven King by Nora Sakavic and Do Not Say We Have Nothing by Madeleine Thien, and I chose a quote from the latter for this week!

DNSWHN

Still, those pretty piano notes were mocking all the movements she made. They dripped from the kitchen to the bedroom to the parlour, seeping like rainwater over the persimmons on the table, the winter coats of her family and the placid softness of Chairman Mao’s face in the grey portrait framed on the wall. She thought he looked doughy, not like the handsome, intrepid fighter he had once been. Regret crawled through her heart and limbs; did it crawl through Chairman Mao’s?

This book is set both in the present and during the Communist revolution in China, and follows the lives of two families as they intertwine throughout the decades. I’m enjoying it so far, as the writing is so gentle and music plays a big part in the story. It’s clear from the settings and dialogue that a lot of research has gone into this book, and the book is all the more impressive for it.

What have you been reading this week? Have you read Do Not Say We Have Nothing? Let me know in the comments!

Until next time, Kate

5 thoughts on “The Friday 56: Do Not Say We Have Nothing

  1. I’ll be looking forward to your thoughts on this book! Very different from what I usually read but I love branching out. I had started Sad Girls by Lang Leav but I’m going to put it down for a few days and maybe start a graphic novel. Happy Friday and Happy reading!!!

    1. I often like to dip into literary fiction, so when I saw this had been nominated for the Booker and was set in China (mostly) I was really eager to pick it up. It hasn’t disappointed so far! I hope you enjoyed whichever graphic novel you decided to pick up! 🙂

  2. This sounds like a really interesting book – I’ve not heard about it before. The excerpt you chose is beautiful. I have been interested to start doing tags or memes on my blog, and I really like the concept of this one – I will have to check it out!

    1. I actually just finished it the other day and it was astoundingly good. So thought-provoking and philosophical, I’d definitely recommend read it if you come across a copy. And tag are a lot of fun! I love reading about other people and their bookish habits!

Leave a Reply

