TBRs and Wrap ups

April Wrap Up (Or the month I got out of my reviewing slump!)

April wrap up

Hey guys,

This month seems to have gone by surprisingly slowly, but I think that’s because we moved house and it took a week or so to get everything sorted. I’m very excited for May for several reasons:

  • It’s warm (usually)
  • ACOWAR comes out
  • I have a couple of interviews
  • My bf is coming to visit our new house

I’m not under any illusions, I know that SJM’s writing has problems, and I’ve heard that there are some issues in ACOWAR from readers who’ve received their copies early, but since I’d already pre-ordered my copy, I’m going to read it and see how I feel.

Books cover

I read seven books this month, including a graphic novel and a poetry collection, which I’m really happy with. I feel like I’ve read books from a variety of genres, which makes up for the fact that I still haven’t read ACOL. (Seriously, who am I?)

The books I planned to read this month were:

And the books I actually read were:

Orangeboy 4-stars

The Foxhole Court  2,5

Hold Your Own  5-stars-new

Truthwitch  3-5-stars

Noblesse volume one 4-5-stars

Noblesse volume two  4-5-stars

Lumberjanes volume 1  3-5-stars

So I read some of books I’d planned and some I hadn’t. This was mainly a result of my copy of Days of Blood and Starlight being a library book, and I had to return it before we moved. My boyfriend also bought me Lumberjanes as a present, so I was eager to get started on that.

In general, though, as long as I read plenty during each month a little deviation isn’t so bad; I just like to compare my ‘before’ and ‘after’ to see what I actually read.

other-notable-posts

5 Poetry Anthologies I NEED to read

I had a bit of a resurgence in my love for poetry this month so I wrote about some of the poetry anthologies I’d like to read. I’ve always loved attending poetry readings and slams, but this month I actually felt like I wanted to write poetry for the first time in ages.

Street Song blog tour: Review + Author Q&A

This month, I also took part in my first ever blog tour and it was a lot of fun. I wrote a review and did an author Q&A for Sheena Wilkinson’s book Street Song, which is out now.

A Little Life Update: Work Experience and Moving House

Since a few reasonably big life events happened recently, I decided to blog about them. I recently interned at a small publishing house in London and also moved house, and since both events were great experiences I wanted to write a post on them. (If you’d like to see more posts like this, do let me know.)

General Life Updates

  • I’ve already mentioned this in my post about it, but my parents and I moved house in April! We all adore our new house and are settling in nicely.
  • I got to volunteer at the Birmingham Literary Festival this months which was amazing. I met M G Leonard (she’s absolutely fascinating) and got to chat to her about writing and publishing. It was fab.
  • I also went to the oldest cinema in the UK during April, which is The Electric in Birmingham. It’s such a stylish venue, so if you’re ever in the city I’d definitely recommend checking it out.
  • As the title suggests, I FINALLY MANAGED TO GET OUT OF MY REVIEWING SLUMP! I pushed myself to start writing reviews again and I’m really enjoying them. Now I just need to keep on top of it each time I finish a book.
  • Finally, I started watching Blue Exorcist this month and it’s so funny! I’m about two thirds of the way through season one and I really like the characters. I’ll definitely be watching season 2.

How was your reading during April? Did you read all the books you wanted to? Have you read any of these books? Come chat to me in the comments!

Until next time, Kate

19 thoughts on “April Wrap Up (Or the month I got out of my reviewing slump!)

  1. ACOL is so good, hope you can get to it soon XD I’ve only read Daughter of smoke and bone but after reading Strange I’m so excited to finish the trilogy I just love Lainis writing. I read so many of the books I wanted to in April although I want to read everybook so it wasn’t that hard XD Great Wrap up hope you have an awesome May Kate!

  2. Looks like you had a great month! 😀 I’m glad to see that you’re enjoying Noblesse, I just literary finished reading some chapters of it. Blue Exorcist is great as well, I just recently finished the second season – it was really good! Also, congratulation on getting out of the reviewing slump! 😀

        1. Me neither, you’re the first person I’ve heard of that’s reading it, hence why I’m so excited! What chapter are you up to? I’m on 361, and I’m scared now because I know that in about 60 chapters I’ll be up to date and will have to wait for the new chapters to be released weekly! Yeah, it’s brilliant. I’ve never read Korean manhwa before, only Japanese manga, but I definitely want to find more after this.

          1. I’m actually all caught up to it! Sooo that means that I’m already in the hell of waiting for chapters each week. I haven’t read much Korean manhwa either, aside from this one I have only read The Breaker, which was seriously amazing. I read mostly Japanese manga as well.

          2. Haha, it’s not bad at all! XD I actually started typing it as Brekker as well! Apparently Kaz is in out thoughts.
            The Breaker is about a high school student who gets bullied. One day he sees one of his teachers fight and display some martial arts. He wants to learn from him and becomes his disciple. He then gets dragged into the world of martial arts and clan battles and such things.
            It’s really good and I have heard people say that it’s one of the best manhwa out there, so I would definitely give it a try! 😀 Plus it’s already finished sooo you don’t have to wait for more chapters to come out. (There is also a sequel to it The Breaker: New Waves, I think it’s called, and that’s completed as well.)

          3. Hahaha, glad I’m not the only one! I just have so much love for his character. Oh that sounds pretty interesting! I might have to check it out! Also I’m pretty sure you saw my tweet, but I caught up on Noblesse last night and now I’m at a loss with what to read in my spare time. The current arc gave me so many feelings!

          4. Kaz is definitely one of my favourites as well! I would recommend it, I found the beginning of The Breaker a bit average but it definitely picks up and gets amazing! 😀 Have you read this weeks chapter? Sooo many feels in that one! I especially loved the moment between Rai and M21!

          5. Ooh OK, I’ll probably check it out since I need other comics to occupy my time in between waiting for the next chapter of Noblesse. Yes I’ve read it and that scene between M21 and Rai almost made me cry! It was so emotional, and the fact that they all came to save him made me feel so warm and fuzzy.

Leave a Reply

