Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Things that make me instantly add a book to my TBR

Hey guys, it’s Tuuuuuuesday!

As always, Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted over at The Broke and The Bookish, and this week’s theme is:

April 18: Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly Want To Read A Book

I’ve been excited for this topic for ages because there are so many things that will make me pick up a book, so I’m just going to get straight into it.

1. Magical powers

If a book gives me even the slightest hint of magical abilities, I want to read it. I love fantasy worlds that weave in elements of magic and mythical powers into their characters and storylines. I will eat that stuff up. Just a few of my favourite magically-infused books are:

2. Own Voices

Own voices literature is hugely important in giving a platform to people whose experiences are just as valid as non-marginalised groups, but don’t get fair representation, often because publishing houses don’t want to take a chance on their stories selling. I love reading own voices books because it gives me an insight into a huge variety of different people’s lives and helps me understand more about their struggles and triumphs. These are just four at the top of my TBR!

3.  Diverse rep

Similar to own voices, diverse rep is incredibly important in expressing the views and lives of marginalised groups that don’t get the representation they deserve. If a book has LGBT+ characters like Of Fire and Stars, characters with disabilities like You’re Welcome Universe, fat characters like The Upside of Unrequited, characters from marginalised backgrounds like When Dimple Met Rishi, or any other diversity that doesn’t get written about often enough, then hit me up.

4. Female protagonists and female friendships

If you offer me a book that has a) a dynamic female MC b) female friendships c) f/f romance d) women kicking butt e) all of the above I will add it to my TBR quicker than you can load Goodreads. I love reading about books where women share their strengths with other women and these are just a few that are great for that:

5. An intriguing title

As someone who studied linguistics, I’m a little in love with words. We can create some incredible combinations with words – just look at how all these books came into existence! So as much as I love short, snappy book titles, if you give me a longer, intriguing title it’s going to grab my interest. I always read the synopsis before I add a book to my TBR, but if it has an eclectic title (like some of these) then I’m far more likely to read up on it.

6. A sexy cover

I’ve long since come to terms with the fact that, yes, I do judge books by their covers. As much as I try to read the title and blurb before deciding whether to pick it up, if a book has a bright or powerful cover then I’m going to notice it. My eyes are often drawn to books like these:

7. Feminism

Say it loud, say it proud: I’m a feminist. So when a book is explores feminism, I’m there. These four I added to my TBR just for being about intersectional feminism.

8. Recs from bloggers and booktubers I follow

I’m forever chatting to people about books on Twitter (and here of course!) and watching booktube videos, so I’m constantly getting recommendations for new reads. If a blogger or vlogger who I’m good friends with and/or whose opinion I highly value recommends a book, then it’s a must-read.

9. Written by an author I love

If one of my favourite author’s has a new book, series, short story or anything coming out, it’s an immediate buy for me. I often add new books by my favourite authors to my Goodreads TBR before they even have a cover!

10. Unique premise

If a book sounds different to anything I’ve read before, or puts a new spin on an old story, then I’m likely to be intrigued. Onto my TBR it goes. Examples of this are:

What kinds of things make you immediately want to pick up a book or add it to your TBR? Let me know in the comments!

Until next time, Kate

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Things that make me instantly add a book to my TBR

  1. I was recently asked in an interview what makes me pick up a book and I just couldn’t define it. I genuinely don’t think there is one thing that will instantly make me add something to my TBR pile. I do like a good cover (the cover for Freedom is Space for the Spirit is fantastic), though that isn’t usually enough alone. If I HAD to pin it down, I think it is mainly the hook and the premise that grabs me combined with how I feel at that moment – I’m flighty so I could read it one day and not feel it, then love it the next. I do also go through phases of reading one particular genre/niche. For example, when I was writing my own novel I tried to read around that subject matter or find similar protagonists to my own (quiet ones), while right now I am reading WW2 books. I really need to go away and have a good think about this…

    1. Yeah I agree it can be difficult to pin down one thing that makes you pick up a book – hence why I’m glad this list had ten things! Sometimes I can pin down one specific feature but it differs from book to book – it might be the title for one book or the synopsis for another. Yeah, the Freedom is the Space for the Spirit cover is amazing! I also go through phases of reading one genre – I’ll often read three or four fantasy books back to back before deciding it’s time for a contemporary or classic. 🙂

  2. Yes to all of the above. I love a good representation of female friendship and minority groups. I think it’s so important that marginalised groups are positively represented. I’m also a sucker for buying sexy book covers haha.

    1. Yeah, female friendships or relationships are a massive hook for me. I love reading about women supporting and enabling each other. Same with marginalised groups – I really value being able to read about other people’s experiences. And yes, sexy books are always a winner. 😀

  3. This is a great list for this weeks topic Kate. Magic powers, and a unique magic system, is a major one of mine given I love fantasy so much, and it’s actually the reasons I ended up picking up the Shades of Magic series in the first place way back when. Also I wish I’d remembered to put diversity and strong female friendships on my list this week because seeing a book has either of those always makes it an automatic add to my TBR list! 😀

    1. Thank you Beth! I think good magic systems are just the love of our lives! They always pull me into a book. 🙂 Aww that’s a shame but there were only ten slots so I imagine there were a few other things you couldn’t fit in –
      I know there were for me!

      1. That’s all right, good magic systems are needed for a good fantasy book. Guess it’s no surprise they’re important aspects in what we read! 🙂 Yeah, definitely plenty of thing, but if this topic ever comes up again I have a few I can use instead! 😀

  4. Interesting undercover wrap-up of magical choices spinning with premises unique entitled with flair and voices in headwind headstrong, tacking in the storm until calm before the next.

Leave a Reply

