Little Life Updates

A Little Life Update: Work Experience and Moving House

Work Experience and Moving Home

Hi guys,

Hope you’re all having a good week! I thought I’d update you all with a bit of what’s been happening in my life recently, and why my blogging schedule has been a touch infrequent (haha, as if it isn’t always).

I think I mentioned in passing in a few of my posts that I was recently in London for two weeks, doing work experience with a small publishing company.

The company was called Kuperard and they mainly publish cultural guides to different countries, as well as distributing a large number of US titles to UK bookshops, such as Waterstones, Blackwells and Foyles. My role was that of a Marketing and PR intern, and I was setting up new social media accounts, running competitions to win books, writing blog posts (I know!), researching universities and companies that might want free copies, and running the Amazon Marketplace accounts.

This was my first time working directly in the publishing industry, and I loved it. The work was varied and interesting, and it was brilliant to see the day-to-day inner workings of a small publishing house. The people I was working with were wonderfully friendly and they made the two weeks a warm, enjoyable and fulfilling experience.

This was also the first time I’d spent more than a few days at a time in London and I just adore the capital. I already knew that I loved London and that some day (soon) I want to live and work there, but this just reinforced my eagerness to do so.

The other big thing that’s happened in the last few days is my parents moved house! My Dad got a new job in the south last year, so my parents decided to put the house on the market just before I went to Japan and it sold in January. On Monday the removal van arrived and we packed our lives up and moved from the north-east to the south. We stayed in a hotel over night, got the keys to the new house on Tuesday, and moved everything in.

I’ve moved houses during university when I was renting, but we’ve never moved from our family home, so this was huge. There was so much to unpack, but four days later we’re almost sorted. The best part was undoubtedly getting to arrange my new bookshelves and I now have a bookcase for fiction and one for manga (although the manga one doesn’t even hold a third of my collection!). Here are some photos for your viewing pleasure.

I’m so happy for my parents, because they’ve wanted this to happen for a long while, and they’re finally seeing the product of all their hard work. Plus, it’s such an adventure for them, moving 300 miles from the north-east to somewhere brand new.

The area we’re living in is semi-rural and the surrounding countryside is gorgeous; we’re close to a wonderful market town and it has two small second-hand bookshops, so I’m all set. It’s quite a change, going from living on the outskirts of a big city, so a small town, but so far I love it.

I don’t know how long I’m going to be living here, as I’m applying for publishing jobs in London, with the goal of moving there for my dream job, but I’m going to enjoy it for as long as it lasts.

Until next time, Kate

9 thoughts on “A Little Life Update: Work Experience and Moving House

  1. It is great to hear about the work experience you managed to do. It sounds right up your street so I hope it leads to more placements or, even better, an actual job! Having your family down south will also be handy too if you do move to London. My family all live up north and it is too expensive to go up too often, therefore I don’t see them as much as I’d like. But enjoy exploring your new home and surroundings.

    PS I don’t want to say “when you move to London” as I don’t want to jinx you.

    1. Thank you! It was exactly what I needed and wanted and hopefully will lead to more opportunities in the future. Yeah, I definitely think it will be better if I end up in London because they’ll only be just over an hour away. Haha that’s OK, don’t worry! I don’t want to jinx myself either 🙂

  2. Good luck with your london applying adventures my dear! That’s super exciting! I, too, moved house. It’s been extremely stressful. Especially because as soon as we moved in, the basement started flooding so we have everything upstairs while it get’s fixed! D:

    Amber @ Escape Life in the Pages

  3. This all sounds so exciting, I hope you get a publishing job in London! That is definitely such a dream. I’ve been trying to get into publishing but don’t have any experience in a book company, which has made it difficult, but since you have some I hope it’ll make things smoother for you!!

  4. Your internship sounds like so much fun– I’m glad you had a great experience, and I’m definitely jealous you got to live in London during that time! My parents moved to a different state almost exactly a year ago (I still go to college in my home state), so I definitely get all the emotions of moving your family home. And I totally agree; it’s such a good feeling to see your parents happy and excited for the changes. 🙂

    1. Thanks Madalyn! It was great, I really hope I can do more like it, and London is just incredible. Would definitely recommend visiting if you ever get the chance! Aww it’s so nice to hear of someone else who’s had a similar moving experience recently, are you parents happy with their new place too?

Leave a Reply

