Book articles · Uncategorized

International Women’s Day: Inspiring Authors and Characters

Happy International Women’s Day everyone!

Today is such an important day for the acknowledgement and empowerment of anyone who identifies as a woman, so I wanted to celebrate by taking a look at a few powerful books written by and about inspiring women.

Fiction

Graphic Novels

Manga

Books about Feminism

Autobiographies/Biographies

Of course, this list isn’t exhaustive and is by no means the holy grail of great books written by women and about women characters. These are just a few books that I’m very eager to read or have read and loved. (I should also note that a number of them could fit into several of these categories!)

Have you read any of the books on this list? Which books would you promote for International Women’s Day? I’d love to know!

until-next-time-1

12 thoughts on “International Women’s Day: Inspiring Authors and Characters

  1. Happy International Women’s Day! So many authors on here that I either love or have been dying to try. I’m not much of a poetry reader, but every time I pick up Sylvia Plath, I want more. Ms. Marvel is going to be my next graphic novel. I’ve only read one and really liked it. I’m planning to get to The Hate U Give this month. I hear nothing but incredible things. Thanks for putting this list together!

    1. I’m the same with poetry – I don’t read a lot of it but I’ve been really wanting to pick up more anthologies recently – especially The Princess Saves Herself in this One! I’m desperate for The Hate U Give too, hoping to pick up a copy as soon as it’s released! 🙂

  2. This is a great post Kate, and even though I have only really read some of the books in the Fiction second I definitely agree they all seem to have some very amazing characters in them. Lila from the Shades of Magic series is amazing, as far as female characters in YA books go she’s definitely one of my favourites, and the same with Inej and Nina from the Six of Crows duology as well.
    The Book Thief is a favourite of mine, same with The Star-Touched Queen and Daughter of Smoke and Bone. As for the rest I have a few others on my to-read list but now I’m even more excited to get around to them all. 😀
    Also Happy Intentional Women’s Day Kate! 🙂

    1. Thanks Beth! Yeah, I tried to include mostly book that are written by women authors about women characters, but some, such as Six Of Crows, I just had to include because despite having more male characters, the women characters were empowered, inspiring, knew their strengths, and loved each other. I’ve just started DOSAB, but despite only being 35 pages in, I love it already and had to include it! Thanks Beth, hope you had a brilliant IWD too! 🙂

      1. I did notice there were mostly women authors in this post, which in and of itself is great too. From what I can tell of the ones I’ve read they all featured amazing women characters and I think even though Six of Crows had more male than female characters both Inej and Nina were clearly well written and developed.
        Ohh, I really hope you enjoy the rest just as much then! 😀

  3. I love, love, LOVE this post Kate! So many fabulous characters (Inej and Nina are two of my favorite characters of all time so I’m thrilled to see them on this list, and Anne Frank’s diary is so beautifully written and heartbreaking). Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous post! ❤

Leave a Reply

