Book articles

12 Books I am Low-Key Desperate To Have Made Into Manga

It’s no secret among those of you who’ve been following me for a while that I’m a bit of a manga/anime nerd. (I’m actually starting to think that in an alternative universe I may have been a manga character.) Recently, I saw someone on twitter mention how much they’d love for V. E. Schwab’s A Darker Shade of Magic to be made into an anime series.

I hadn’t thought about how well this could work until then, but now I can’t stop thinking about it. Imagine the animation of the fight scenes and character designs! *swoons*

So it got me thinking, ADSOM would look amazing as an anime, but it could also work wonderfully as a manga. And if that series could work, which other books would look amazing as illustrated tomes? So, after much musing, here are 12 books I’m desperate to have as manga.

1. A Darker Shade of Magic

61YJzE2d8QL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

It had to come top of the list – it’s the reason the list was born! I think I’d just never put down ADSOM if it were a manga series.

2. The Raven Boys

raven boys

Can you imagine the Gangsey in a manga?! They were practically written to be drawn as manga characters, they’re so quirky.

3. Six of Crows

six of crows

Kaz Brekker as a manga character. Just saying. (We all know it would be great.)

4. The Mortal Engines

mortal-instruments

If someone could draw the giant moving cities and do them justice, this series would be fantastic as a manga. They could really push the steampunk element and have whole pages devoted to engines and mechanics. *shiny eyes*

5. The Name of the Wind

The_Name_of_the_Wind_(UK)_cover

Thinking about this book as a manga gives me actual heart palpitations. Joyful ones. It could be turned it into huge, thick tomes, rich in drawings of the university and full of magic.

6. The Secret Garden

Secret Garden.jpg

I used to love this book as a child and I think so much could be done with it as a manga. There’s potential for whole pages of intricate floral illustrations, and they could really intensify the detail in the different areas of the garden.

7. This Savage Song

ThisSavagesong

OK, I know this whole post is accidentally turning into a love letter to V. E. Schwab, but just think about how stunning this novel could be in manga form. The monsters would look so incredible.

8. Not Your Sidekick

Not Your Sidekick.jpg

I haven’t even read this yet and I want it as a manga series. It involves superheroes – it’d be perfect!

9. Of Fire and Stars

of-fire-and-stars

This is another novel I haven’t read yet but I’ve heard so much about the world-building that I think it would translate very well! (Also manga (as a genre) needs to diversify more, so it could definitely benefit from including a beautiful gay romance such as this!)

10. Everything Everything

book_cover

I was a bit ‘meh’ about this novel after I finished reading it – I liked it but didn’t love it – but I think the plot could work well in three or four volumes of manga, especially the climax towards the end.

11. You Know Me Well

27158835

I think the romance and friendships in this novel would be really fun in a manga series when paired with some cute designs for the main characters, and I would love to see the Pride parade in manga art!

12. A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue

gentlemans-guide

And finally… The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue! This book isn’t even out yet and I already want it to be serialised as a manga. An 18th century road trip through Europe? With drama, plot twists and a gay romance? It has SO much promise. Honestly, I’m tempted to try and draw it as a manga myself. (If only I could draw…)

So that’s it for the books I low-key have a mighty need to be published in manga format. I’ve also now written a companion post to this one about the 12 manga I need to be turned into full length novels! Be sure to check it out!

I would love to hear what you guys think! Are there any books you’d like to be made into a manga series that I didn’t include here? Are there any you think would be terrible as manga? Let me know!

until-next-time-1

9 thoughts on “12 Books I am Low-Key Desperate To Have Made Into Manga

  1. Great post ! I think the Hunger Games series would lend itself well for a manga/anime adaptation. The series has already got a theme that would lend itself well for a Japanese treatment, so I would definitely like to see something like that 😊

  2. Great post Kate. I haven’t read all of these book myself but oh if the Shades of Magic series was made into manga I would be first in line to pick up a copy. Basically anything Shades of Magic related is going to be a success in my mind no matter what it is. I’d also certainly be interested in seeing how Six of Crows, The Raven Cycle series and This Savage Song translate to manga as well.
    Obviously you’ve read more manga than I have so I guess you’d know what works and what doesn’t! 🙂

  3. I sooo agree with you about The Raven Boys and Six of Crows. Especially The Raven Boys, it just has that whole…atmosphere that would translate so well into any form of visual art. Ronan and Blue in particular I’d love to see. And Six of Crows could be so gritty! Also, I love that you included The Secret Garden, that one would be a gorgeous manga. This is such a great post!

    1. Thanks Ashleigh! Yeah manga isn’t always for everyone – a lot of people I talk to say they find it difficult to read (with the panels having to be read right to left) but I’ve been reading it since I was about 14 so it seems like second nature to me 😛

Leave a Reply

