TBRs and Wrap ups · Uncategorized

January Wrap Up

Hello my lovely bumblebees,

Hope you’ve all had a good January! It’s been a very chaotic month in some respects, and although I live in the UK and not the US, it’s been increasingly worrying and horrifying watching Trump take over. So in light of everything that’s been happening, I just want to say that I’m here for you all, whether you live in the US or not and don’t ever forget that you matter.

Books cover

I’ve had quite a lot of time for reading this month, since I got back from Japan and I manged to read 7 books, which I’m pretty pleased with!

These are the books I had planned to read:

And here are the books I read:

So I started off quite well, and then I diverged a little bit. I can pinpoint the moment of divergence down to the exact moment I walked into my library. (Ha.)

I am also currently reading:

And two of these were on my original January TBR so I haven’t done too badly (I hope!).

Ratings:

A Court of Mist and Fury 4-5-stars

The Vegetarian  4-stars

Fangirl  4-stars

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe  3-5-stars

Gilded Cage  4-stars

Cinder  3-5-stars

Dr Jeykll and Mr Hyde  3-stars

top-ten-tuesday-posts

Top Ten Tuesday: Most Anticipated Debut Novels

Top Ten Tuesday: 2016 Releases That I Meant To Get To And Didn’t (But Totally Plan To)

Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Underrated Books You’ll Wonder Why You Haven’t Read Sooner

Top Ten Tuesday: Banned Books

Top Ten Tuesday: Manga With Dynamic Female Protagonists

japan-posts

2016 Reading Goals

UK vs. US Book Covers: Who Does It Better?

The Harry Potter Book Tag

Other things that happened in January:

– I came back from Japan

– I got Japan withdrawal symptoms

– I got Six of Crows/Crooked Kingdom withdrawal symptoms

– I won a SIGNED PRE-ORDER OF A CONJURING OF LIGHT (possibly the best day ever)

– I managed to swing an ARC of Traitor to the Throne on Netgalley

– I BOUGHT BOOKS after a three month Japan-imposed buying ban (and it was everything)

~~

So all in all it’s been a pretty good month reading-wise. How did your reading month go? Did you read everything you’d planned? Were any of your reads on my list? Let me know, I’d love to hear from you!

until-next-time-1

6 thoughts on “January Wrap Up

  1. Hi Kate,I didn’t know that you were back already.Thought you’d be there for like a year.I guess you had a wonderful stay there though based on what you shared.

    Your reading in January seems to have gone well.At least you read like half the books that you planned to.Congrats on the signed pre-,order and have a great month.

    1. Hi Diana! I was there for three months, including Christmas and New Year, but I flew home a few days after the new year. I would have loved to stay longer, but if you stay for more than three months you have to get a visa, so I thought just under three months would be a good amount of time. And yeah, I feel like I’ve had a reasonably good reading month, I hope you did too! Thanks! 😀

  2. Lovely post! It seems like you had an amazing month! I can definitely relate to the SoC/CK withdrawal symptoms – I read CK at the beginning of January and I’m STILL not over it. Those books are just my absolute favorite. At least we found out that we’re getting Language of Thorns though, I can’t wait! 😀

    1. Thank you! Aww man, well at least we can have withdrawal symptoms together! XD The other day I picked up Six of Crows just so I could read the escape scene again. :’) It’s so amazing. And yes! I’m really excited that we’re getting another book this year!

  3. I hope your time in Japan was awesome. Seven books is a really solid number, I always shoot for the seven books and anything above makes me feel like I’ve accomplished something big. I hope you’re enjoying A Gathering of Shadows, I love that series! Hope you have a wonderful February.

  4. You visited Japan? That must have been so much fun. I’ve wanted to travel there since middle school but still haven’t had the chance. One day, hopefully! It looks like you had a pretty great reading month too and read a lot of great books. ACOMAF, in particular, is one of my favorites so I’m glad you enjoyed it. And I am so with you on the Six of Crows withdrawal. I read both books months ago and am still having withdrawal symptoms as well. I’m going to need a reread before this year is over. I hope you have a great February!! 😊

Leave a Reply

