Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: 2016 Releases That I Meant To Get To and Didn’t (But Totally Plan to)

Morning and happy Tuesday everyone!

I have an hour to write this before I have to go and catch a coach so this is going to be a quick one!

As always, Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted over at The Broke and The Bookish, and this weeks theme is:

January 10: Top Ten 2016 Releases I Meant To Read And Didn’t Get To (But TOTALLY plan to)

Hahah, there are sooooo many books I could put in this list, it could literally be a top 50. But as always, I’ll try and narrow it down the ten!

A Gathering of Shadows by V. E. Schwab

I’ve been trying to read this since July when I bought it and I HAVE to read it either this month or next because A Conjuring Of Light comes out in February!

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

This was actually one of my most highly-anticipated books of 2016, but as sometimes happens, I just didn’t get to it! The sequel, Windwitch, is out in a few weeks though so I definitely want to pick them both up soon.

The Vegetarian by Han Kang

This won the Man Booker Prize last year and I’d heard really interesting things about it, so I was desperate to pick it up. And I finally have! I’m reading this as well speak! (Well, not literally otherwise I wouldn’t be looking at the screen and my typing would be all over the place, but I’ll be reading some more as soon as I’ve written this post!)

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

I’ve heard some mixed things about this book recently, as Jay Kristoff has come under fire for misrepresenting a minority group in his writing and then denying such actions. But the premise of this book always sounded unique to me so I’d still like to pick it up and form my own opinions about how he represents marginalised characters.

Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst

This book just sounds amazing. A fantasy fairy tale-inspired story, where the two female main characters fall in love with each other. Oh and they’re also badasses. And there’s magic. I’m sold.

The Princess Saves Herself in this One by Amanda Lovelace

I wanted to read more poetry last year and this just sounded wonderful. The excepts I’ve seen people posting on twitter just made me even more desperate and then it went and won a Goodreads Choice Award. Someone just buy it for me and throw it at my face please.

The Star Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

This book is steeped in mythology and has an Indian setting. Give me give me give me.

Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

I finally bought this the other day! Hopefully I’m going to pick it up after The Vegetarian/LOTR which are my current and next read.

All The Birds in the Sky by Charlie Jane Anders

This book involves magical realism, time machines and mecca San Francisco. Sign me the heck up. People have recommended it to me saying ‘it was a bit weird and quirky for my tastes but you like that sort of thing so you’ll probably love it’. Sounds about right.

The Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis

A contemporary that examines rape culture and attempts to dismantle ideas of victim blaming and internalised misogyny? I’m here for this. I meant to pick up a copy of this book as soon as it came out but didn’t get the chance and then couldn’t find it in my local library, but I’ll definitely be reading it this year.

So that’s my ten! As I said, this list could have been a lot longer, but these are the books I’m climbing the walls for at the moment.

Let me know which books you guys didn’t get to last year but are determined to pick up this year!

until-next-time-1

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 2016 Releases That I Meant To Get To and Didn’t (But Totally Plan to)

  1. Nevernight, A Gathering of Shadows, and Three Dark Crowns are all books that I meant to read in 2016 as well. Hopefully we can both get around to reading them in 2017 🙂

  2. I haven’t read any of these and even though i’m not a devoted YA reader, i’ve heard and seed so much about Nevernight and honestly, THE COVER DESIGNS FOR THE BOOK ARE EPIC, so if i feel like picking up a YA fantasy, it’s one of the books that i would like to get to! *-*

  3. Great picks for this week Kate. Some of these are all-time favourites of mine and all I can say is you need to get around to them ASAP! 😀
    Obviously I’m sure you’ll love A Gathering of Shadows, and yeah you need to get to it soon given the last book is released very very soon. Also I hope you love both Nevernight and The Star-Touched Queen; they were two of my favourite reads from last year so I’d be interested to see what you think of them as well.
    I haven’t read any of the others on your list but I hope you enjoy them too, and that you find enough time to get through them all this year! 😀

Leave a Reply

