Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Leaving Under My Tree

Tuesday is always sneaking up on me!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted over at The Broke and The Bookish, and this weeks theme is:

Ten Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Leaving Under My Tree (or non-book bookworm items)

I could definitely make this my ‘top twenty’ rather than my ‘top ten’ because I have so many idea, but I’ll pick my favourites for this list!

1.  Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst

of-fire-and-stars

Two princesses from rival kingdoms fall in love with each other while having to save their worlds from destruction. It’s LGBTQIA+ and own voice. So much yes. Sign me up.

2. Stormdancer by Jay Kristoff

stormdancer

I’ve been meaning to buddy read this with a friend for such a long time but I wasn’t able to find it in any shops before I left for Japan, so if Santa could just pop me a copy under the tree that would be stellar.

3. The Vegetarian by Han Kang

vegetarian-uk

I’ve been wanting to read this ever since it won the Man Booker Prize (months ago whoops) so if St Nick, my parents, or a benevolent librarian could slide this under my Christmas tree I’d be incredibly happy!

4. Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi

furthermore

Furhtermore sounds like so much fun, and I really want to pick it up in early 2017.

5. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

red-queen

This book has been on my TBR for quite some time and it’s just fallen down the list as I’ve prioritised and picked up other books. But it involves magic, palaces and an underdog so it’s right up my street and I’d love to pick it up soon!

6. Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Cordova

labyrinth-lostNot only is the cover beautiful, but the story is own voices and centres around a Latina MC, who is a witch living in Brooklyn. I have a mighty need.

7. The Princess Saves Herself in this One by Amanda Lovelace

the-princess-saves-herself

I’ve heard such wonderful things about this poetry collection and it recently won a Goodreads choice award, so I really want to add it to my shelf. It’s about feminism, empowerment and understanding your worth – all things which I am here for. Plus, I don’t read enough poetry and recently I’ve been wanting to rectify that.

8. The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

star-touched

Every time I see this book and read the synopsis I mentally move it higher and higher up my TBR. And right now, it’s in the top ten.

9. Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

simon

I’ve wanted to read this for ages, so if someone just happened to put it under my tree I’d be ecstatic!

10. The Archived by V. E. Schwab

archived

No matter what time of the year, I’m permanently eager to read more of V. E. Schwab’s books, and The Archived has been really piquing my interest recently. Plus, look at that cover, what a winner.

Which books are you guys hoping to get for Christmas this year? Is your Christmas list basically 99% books like mine? Let me know!

until-next-time-1

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Leaving Under My Tree

  1. The Star-Touched Queen is amazing! I read it earlier this year and adored it, so I can only recommend it to you even more. 🙂 I have wanted to read Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda for ages as well, but haven’t picked it up yet (though I own the book), I’m just not the biggest fan of contemporary. But this one really interests me so I hope to read it some time soon.

  2. Great picks for this week Kate, some of these are my favourite books – The Star-Touched Queen, Labyrinth Lost, The Archived – so I hope you manage to get your hands on them soon and I hope you love them as much as I did as well. The Star-Touched Queen was actually one of my favourite reads of 2016 and now I am so excited for the companion novel to be released next year!
    Also I really need to read Stormdancer by Jay Kristoff as well, that’s one on my list for Santa as well! 😀

Leave a Reply

