Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: New-to-me Authors I Read For The First Time In 2016

It’s that time of the week once again!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted over at The Broke and The Bookish, and this weeks theme is:

December 6: Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read For The First Time In 2016

Pretty straight forward, so let’s just get into it!

1. V. E. Schwab

Ah V. E. Schwab. My queen. My goddess. I am so thrilled and exhilarated that I discovered her books this year for the first time because everything about them is just brilliant. I read ADSOM at the beginning of this year and then followed it up by This Savage Song during summer, and I’m hoping to (finally) read A Gathering of Shadows this month (so that I have two months to emotionally prepare for A Conjuring of Light). I would definitely say these books have been some of my highlights of the year and V. E. Schwab has quickly become one of my favourite authors.

2. Leigh Bardugo

Somehow, I’d never read any of Leigh Bardugo’s writing until this year, but that quickly changed in May when I read Shadow and Bone in three days. Since then I’ve finished the rest of the Grisha trilogy, and have just started Six of Crows (I LOVE IT), so if all goes to plan I’ll have read all five of her novels by the end of the year!

3. Maggie Stiefvater

I’d heard a lot of hype surrounding Maggie Stiefvater’s writing, but only jumped into the Raven Cycle for the first time this year. And boy what a leap it was. This series, about psychic abilities, friendship and mystery, made me fall a little bit in love with the Gangsey and their interactions with one another were what I lived for when reading these novels. Stiefvater recently announced a Raven Cycle spin-off about Ronan, and I, for one, will be queueing outside the bookshop the day it gets released.

4. Alwyn Hamilton

rebel

Oh Alwyn, where have you been all my life? Writing this beauty apparently. Rebel is Alwyn Hamilton’s debut novel (for which she just won a Goodreads Choice award!) and it honestly blew me away. I’m counting down the days until the sequel arrives.

5. Erin Morgenstern

102

I’d heard dazzling reviews of The Night Circus, and both my friend and sister had been urging me to pick the book up for years. So I finally did this year and wow, wow, wow. Morgenstern’s writing is just off the charts in terms of lyrical beauty and her world-building is sublime. She announced recently via twitter that she is, in fact, working on a new novel (!) but no concrete details have been released about it yet. Please Erin, we need more books.

6. David Levithan

David Levithan is well-known both for his contemporary novels and their excellent representation of LGBTQIA+ characters. I read both of these novels during the summer months and was instantly taken in by Levithan’s sweet, funny portrayal of romance and realistic, three-dimensional characters. I also have a copy of Every Day sitting on my shelf, so I’ll definitely be picking that up in 2017!

7. Melinda Salisbury

sin-eater

Melinda Salisbury is another author whose work I read for the first time this year, and I thoroughly enjoyed the romp into her magical kingdom. I also enjoyed all the twists and turns that The Sin Eater’s Daughter threw at me!

8. Sara Raasch

snowlikeashes

Looking back, I still can’t believe I only found out about and picked up SLA this year. Sara Raasch’s characters and magical world were an instant favourite of mine and I’m low-key DESPERATE to pick up the other two books in the trilogy.

9. Patrick Rothfuss

The_Name_of_the_Wind_(UK)_cover

A friend gave me The Name of the Wind to borrow a few months back, and I’m so glad he did because it introduced me to the masterful storytelling of Patrick Rothfuss. The characters, plot and sheer inventiveness of this novel all combine to make it nothing short of epic, and I’m itching to pick up the sequel.

10. Nicola Yoon

book_cover

I picked up Everything Everything for the first time earlier this year and really enjoyed Nicola Yoon’s easy-to-read writing style. I’m also hoping to check out her other novel, The Sun is Also a Star, in the new year! 

So, that’s my 10! Let me know if any of these featured on your list this week, or which authors were new for you in 2016! And as usual feel free to link me to your TTT posts!

until-next-time-1

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: New-to-me Authors I Read For The First Time In 2016

  1. Great picks for this week Kate. The first five authors could literally have been picked from my favourite authors list. V.E. Schwab is my all-time favourite author, honestly everything she writes is an automatic add on my to-read list, my to-buy list, all my lists now! 🙂
    I hope you love Six of Crows, I can’t wait to see your review for that one, and I am so so excited for the Ronan spin off series by Maggie Stiefvater as well.
    Also it’s great to see The Night Circus on here as well. It’s a favourite book of mine, the world building is beyond epic, and it deserves a lot more love! 😀

    1. Haha we sure do have similar tasted in books! I know what you mean – I’ll literally read anything she writes! I’m reading Six of Crows right now and IT IS KILLING ME WITH ITS BRILLIANCE MY GOODNESS. I have about 30 pages to go I’m SO eager to finish and also don’t want it to end. Yeah I am HERE FOR the Ronan spin-off series. 🙂

      1. We definitely do! Oh I can’t wait to see your review for Six of Crows, it’s an amazing amazing book and I’m so glad you’re enjoying it as well! Do you plan to start Crooked Kingdom afterwards?
        God I need that Ronan spin-off series like right this second! 😀

  2. ERIN MORGENSTERN ANNOUNCED SHE IS WRITING SOMETHING NEW! *flails* how did I miss this! I love The Night Circus the writing is just beyond incredible I can’t wait for something new 😄 Also AGOS is so good Lila is such a kickass character and the whole story rocks I’m planning on re-reading it once ACOL comes out i can’t wait to have more from these books VE Schwab is an amazing author 🙂

    1. YES! I couldn’t believe it too, it’s so exciting! Omg you’re making me so excited to read AGOS! 😀 And yes, V. E. Schwab is so amazing, I’ll literally read anything she writes. I’m currently reading Six of Crows (OH MY GOD) and then after I’ve read that and Crooked Kingdom, I’ll probably pick up AGOS!

      1. AHHAHAH @ SoC 😄 It’s so amazing and so is CK! I wish there were more books because the characters are just fantastic but I also really like that we didn’t have to wait years for the series to be finished 🙂

Leave a Reply

