Book articles

Series I need to finish

When I was writing yesterday’s Top Ten Tuesday post, I suddenly realised how many series I have in progress that I haven’t yet finished.

It’s not that I’ve got bored with these series. The opposite, in fact. I adore the books I’ve already read, but due to either my recent reading slump in September/October, or not being able to buy the next book in the series because I’m now in Japan, I haven’t got round to finishing them!

These are just a few of the series that I need to continue/finish! I should also note that I’ve tried only to include series that are now complete.

The Grisha trilogy by Leigh Bardugo

Books in the series: 3

Books I still need to read: 1

I’ve read both of the first two in this series and need to read the final book! Especially since I’ve heard that I have to read Ruin and Rising before I can read Six of Crows because there are spoilers for the former in the latter.

~~~

The Snow like Fire trilogy by Sara Raasch

Books in the series: 3

Books I still need to read: 2

loved the first book in this series, so I can’t for the life of me fathom out why I haven’t picked up the sequel. And now the third book is out too! When I get back from Japan, I may have to buying both and reading them back-to-back to finish the series.

~~~

The Abhorsen series by Garth Nix

Books in the series: 5 (and I think it’s complete now but please correct me if I’m wrong)

Books I still need to read: 4 (for shame)

I enjoyed Sabriel so much that I can’t wait to dive back into this world, but I’ve had multiple opportunities to pick up Lirael from the library and haven’t. But, I think I know why. I was reading The Raven Cycle around the same time as I picked up Sabiel, and because those books continue on from one another (whereas Lirael follows different characters to Sabriel) I think that series took over for me.

~~~

The Graceling series by Kristin Cashore

Books in the series: 3

Books I still need to read: 1

Graceling is one of my favourite fantasy novels, and I thoroughly enjoyed Fire, but for some reason I just haven’t managed to get to Bitterblue yet? Like, I’ve seen it on the shelf in multiple bookstores and chosen other books instead?! Come on Kate, get it together.

~~~

The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

Books in the series: 6

Books I still need to read: 1

(Yes, WordPress lined them up in a weird, vertical order, I know). Ugh this series has become something of my nemesis. I was hooked on the Mortal Instruments a few years ago, but after leaving too long a gap between reading the fifth and sixth books, I now have little motivation to read the final book because I can’t remember much of what happened in the fifth. Sadly, the poor film adaptation (and now sub-part TV adaptation) served to further dampen my enthusiasm for the series. But I do want to read Lady Midnight, which means I need to get to City of Heavenly Fire first. Perhaps I’ll make it a New Year’s resolution.

~~~

Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan

Books in the series: 5

Books I still need to read: 2

I’ve tried to finish this series at least twice and failed both times! I read the first three books a few years ago and then never continued with the others. Then in June of this year, I re-read the third book for TBR-takedown, with the plan of finishing the others, but never picked them up. I do still definitely want to finish the final two books, but I’ll admit they’re not super high on my priority list. Sorry Percy!

So there you have the completed series that I need to finish asap (despite what I just said about poor Percy). Let me know what series you need to finish up and if any of them are on this list!

until-next-time-1

14 thoughts on “Series I need to finish

  1. Oh you definitely need to finish the Grisha series, just so you can move onto Six of Crows straight away. Trust me you need that book in your life! 😀
    I’m with you on needing to finish the Snow Like Ashes series and the Shadowhunters books as well. When it comes to the Shadowhunters series it’s been so long since I read the first couple of books that I’m honestly going to need to start from the very beginning, and given that there’s now ten books, not counting to two novella collections, I have a long way to go still.
    I only read Percy Jackson recently myself but it’s an amazing series so I hope you enjoy the rest you still have to read; The Battle of the Labyrinth is my favourite of the five! 😀

    1. You’re right, I neeeeed it! *grabby hands* I mean, I already own both books in the duology, but I NEED to get reading them! Aww yeah I totally feel the same with the Shadowhunters series, it’s been so long since I read book five, but I think I might just read a recap and take the plunge into book six because there are so many other books I want to read right now that re-reading the series isn’t a priority. Oooh the Battle of the Labyrinth is the one I need to read next! You’ve made me excited to get back into it now!

      1. I felt like that way when Crooked Kingdom was released. I had it on my bookshelves but didn’t get around to it for ages and I was so desperate I start reading it!
        I only read the first three, part of book four and part of the first Infernal Devices book so I definitely need a recap but it’s not a priority for me at the moment either, simply because there’s too many to get through.
        I hope you enjoy it then. You’ll have to let me know what you think of that one when you finish it! 😀

    1. Yeah, Percy Jackson is a really fun series, although if I were going to recommend any on this list it would have to be either Snow Like Ashes or the Grisha series – both are excellent. Also, I can’t recommend Graceling enough! (It’s a companion series you so each book can almost be a standalone.)

Leave a Reply

