Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: All About the Books you read because of a Recommendation

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted over at The Broke and The Bookish, and this weeks theme is recommendations:

‘All About Books You Read Because of Recommendation — Ten Books I’ve Read Because Of Another  Blogger (Or Book Person) or Ten Books I Read On Recommendation From People Outside Of This Community or you could talk about recommendations of books you read from other sources — a magazine, a podcast, a “because you read this” algorithm.’

This is my first TTT post from Japan! If you want to read about my arrival and first few days here, you can check out my Arriving in Japan post.

For this week’s Top Ten, I’ve decided to go with five books that people have recommended to me and I’ve then read (1-5) and five books that people have recommended to me that I plan to read soon (6-10).

1. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

102

Recommended by: my bookish pal Deepali over at Bookriot.

Rating 4.5/5 stars.

My friend Deepali adores this book and had been recommending it to me for months before I finally sat down and read it this summer. As expected, her recommendation was spot on, and it was a fantastic read.

2. Two Boys Kissing by David Levithan

1twoboys

Recommended by: Cece over at Problems of A Book Nerd.

Rating: 4/5 stars

So, Cece didn’t recommend this to me personally, but she rec’d it in one of her videos and spoke so enthusiastically about it that I knew I had to read it.

3. We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler

We are all completely beside ourselves

Recommended by: my RL and Goodread friend Coral.

Rating: 4/5 stars.

My friend Coral recommended this to me pretty much straight after she finished reading it and she had really good things to say about it. With an intriguing blurb and compelling cover I couldn’t resist picking up this novel, and it didn’t disappoint.

4. Wool by Hugh Howey

wool

Recommended by: my uncle.

Rating: 3/5

My uncle raved about how good this book was and even gave me a copy to read, but sadly I found it a little lacking. The plot was slow and unengaging, and as a result I found myself struggling to pick it up.

5. Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ichiguro

102927

Recommended by: my auntie.

Rating: 4/5 stars.

My auntie gave me her copy of this after she was done with this and her recommendation did not go amiss. This dystopian tale of love, friendship and lonliness is skillfully woven to create complex, interesting characters.

6. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

six of crows

Recommended by: just about everyone I know.

This novel has been all over my Twitter and Goodreads recently and I can’t wait to begin this novel as soon as I finish Empire of Storms!

7. A Gathering of Shadows by V. E. Schwab

1234gathering

Recommended by: the lovely Hollie over at Hollie Blog.

When we met, while in line to meet V. E. Schwab at YALC, Hollie recommended the sequel to ADSOM to me. She told me how brilliant it was and her words made me even more excited to read it. I need more of Kell, Lila and Rhy’s adventures in my life. Like, now.

8. Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

61czwgfs9pl__sy344_bo1204203200_

Recommended by: My friend Beth over at Off the Shelf.

As well as lots of other excellent books, Beth recommended this exciting fantasy to me. I don’t have a copy of this with me in Japan, so I’m either going to buy the e-book or listen to and audio version.

9. My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton and Jodi Meadows.

my-lady-jane

Recommended by: my Goodreads friend JoAnna.

I’ve heard good things about this book, so if I can find a copy either in e-book form or in paperback when I’m back from Japan then I’ll definitely give it a go!

10. The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N. K. Jemisin

the-hundred-thousand-kingdoms

Recommended by: my blogging pal Jaleenajo.

This has been on my TBR for a while since I read about it on Goodreads, and another WordPress pal recommended it to me while we were chatting about which books I should take to Japan. After heading how great it was, I brought it with me and should be reading it soon!

So that’s my TTT for this week. Let me know which books you’ve been recommended that you loved, or any that you didn’t end up liking! And if you have any other books to recommend to me, please let me know!

until-next-time-1

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: All About the Books you read because of a Recommendation

    1. Yeah, it’s a really good book. Would recommend if you enjoy contemporaries! Ah, the Night Circus was so special and different to anything else I’ve read. 🙂 Just checked out your TTT, great list! I’ve heard lots of people talking about Kids of Appetite recently, so might check it out. Are you planning on reading it soon?

  1. Great picks for this week. The Night Circus is an all time favourite of mine, I don’t think it was recommended to me though I think I just picked it up on a whim one day, and what a great decision that was! 🙂
    Six of Crows, A Gathering of Shadows, Daughter of Smoke and Bone and My Lady Jane are some favourites of mine so I really really hope you love them, and I’ll be someone else to add on your list of people who have recommended them to you! 😀

Leave a Reply

