tags

This or That Book Tag

I wasn’t tagged by anyone for this, but I’ve seen it doing the rounds and it looked like a lot of fun. So I’m just going to dive right in!

These are the rules:

  • Mention the creator of the tag – Ayunda @ Tea and Paperbacks
  • Thank the blogger who tagged you!
  • Choose one of the options, you don’t have to tell the reasons why you chose that but you can also do them if you want to.

Tag Questions

1. Reading on the couch or on the bed?

I rather like both, but I’m going to go with bed just because of the added cosy comfort of a quilt. Plus you can make a giant snuggly mound of pillows and cushions for added comfort. And it’s always warm.

200

2. Male main character or female main character?

Female. Almost always. I just identify with female protagonists and feel resonance in a way that I don’t always with male protagonists. Don’t get me wrong, some of my favourite characters are male, and there are some stories with male protagonists that I don’t think would work in the same way with female protagonists, but I just (often) feel a deeper connection to female characters. Plus we need more female friendships and relationships in books, I’m always down for that.

3. Sweet snacks or salty snacks while reading?

SWEET. The bold and caps should give you can idea of how strongly I feel about this. I have an unwieldy sweet tooth.

201

4. Trilogies or quartets?

Tough one. I’ve read more trilogies, and do love the sequential nature of a three-part series, but occasionally, if dystopian, they can become a little formulaic at times. The first book sets up a dystopic world and introduces a character who will be the catalyst for change, the second transforms the world as the characters head towards conflict, and the third ignites civil revolution. (Look at The Hunger GamesDivergent, and Delirium and you’ll see what I mean). So I’m going to be controversial and  go for quartets for this one. Plus, you get more reading material which is (usually) always a good thing.

5. First person point of view or third person point of view?

I slightly prefer third person, but I do enjoy the immersion of reading a first person perspective. When a narrative is focalised in first person it creates an interesting duality to the story; on some level, you read ‘I’ as referring to you, transferring yourself onto the character. Simultaneously, you understanding that the ‘I’ of the character is separate from the ‘I’ you use to refer to yourself, despite the overlapping use of the pronoun.

Tldr: Both are good, but third person edges it slightly for me.

6. Reading at night or reading in the morning?

I actually prefer reading in the morning, because sometimes if I read right before bed and begin to fall asleep, I forget the last page of what I’d been reading. And have to recap in the morning. Plus I like reading a book with my breakfast when on sunny mornings.

202.gif

7. Libraries or bookstores?

Oh god.

Both? I love going to the library and picking out books, but I also love going into bookstores with the smell of all the new books and the promise of buying something.

OK, if I have to choose one, I’m going to go with bookstores, simply because I get to own whatever I buy, and don’t have to return it!

204

8. Books that make you laugh or books that make you cry?

I’ve always thought books that can do both are powerful pieces of literature, regardless of genre. I laugh easily though, so if a book manages to make me laugh it’s not such a big deal as one that can make me cry. Books that make me tear up and fewer and far between, and usually indicate the formation of an indelible connection with the characters. Some of my favourite

9. Black book covers or white book covers?

Definitely black. They’re striking (especially when combined with white).

10. Character-driven or plot-driven stories?

A little bit of both is a great mix, but while I do like character studies, I’m more easily engaged by plot-driven novels. Got to love a bit of action and drama. Especially if it involves magic.

I tag:
Hollie @Hollieblog  and Ashleigh @AFrolicThroughFiction  if you haven’t already done it/fancy doing it!

7 thoughts on “This or That Book Tag

  1. Thank you for tagging me! Literally all of my answers would be the same. Every. Single. One.
    Also, have you removed your “like” button from the bottom of your posts or am I just completely missing it somehow?

    1. No problem! Haha no way! That’s such a weird coincidence. Feel free not to do the tag if you feel that it would be too similar to this, but equally I’d love to read your version so if you want to do it that would be great! And I haven’t consciously removed it, has it just disappeared completely? :/

Leave a Reply

