Readathons

TBRTakedown 4.0: Day 1

ICYMI: I’m taking part in TBRTakedown 4.0! This is a readathon running throughout this week which has five challenges to complete. I’ve chosen a book for each challenge (you can read my TBR here) and each day I’ll be updating my reading progress to let you know how I’m getting on and whether (or not!) I’m on track.

Day 1 was yesterday, and I started challenge one (a book that’s been on your TBR for more than a year) bang on midnight. I was working all day yesterday, and knew I wouldn’t be able to read much until the evening, so I foolishly (or wisely, I don’t know) stayed up until 1am to get ahead with my first book.

The first book I had chosen to read was Percy Jackson and the Titan’s Curse, and I managed to read about 70 pages before I called it quits and went to sleep.

I then read another 10 pages when I got up in the morning (looking tired and rumpled) before I went to work.

After finishing work at 4.30pm (I started at 8.30am yayyyy), I headed to the gym, where I read some more on the bike machines. This has become one of my favourite things to do at the gym, as I can cycle hard while still doing something fun.

When I got in I did a little bit of life admin and showered, then read solidly for the rest of  the night. And I finished my first book. I power-read through that baby. Not kidding, any faster and my eyes would have been smoking (and not in the attractive eyeshadow kind of way). I was pretty pleased because it’s been a long time since I read a book in a day (just over since I stayed up until after midnight to finish it), and the last time I did that I was on holiday and didn’t have to go to work for most of the day.

I gave Percy Jackson and the Titan’s Curse 3.5/5 stars (you can find my (very brief) Goodreads review here) as I found it a fun read, but felt that the writing style was aimed at an audience much younger than me. I also couldn’t help but compare it to novels from other author’s I’ve read, whose narrative style is far more graceful, captivating, and inspired.

So my totals so far are:

Books read: 1

percy jackson titan

Pages read: 293 (Goodreads seems to think it’s 320 but my copy had 293 so I’m going to go with that).

Hours of sleep lost: I’m going to say about 2.

Stars given: 3.5 of a possible 5.

I’ll be posting my Day 2 update either later on tonight or tomorrow morning, so stay tuned for that!

Leave a Reply

